Collecting Black Sabbath

Posted: June 29, 2024 in Black Sabbath, Classic Rock, Cool stuff, Deep Purple Family, Fanzine History, Hobby, Magazines

I started to collect articles/cuttings, photographs etc in binders in the early 1970s. Basically Deep Purple stuff. When Dio era Black Sabbath kicked off, I started to collect Black Sabbath. At this point I had collections going for Purple, Rainbow, Whitesnake and Gillan. These collections expanded nicely until the late 1990s, when it stalled. I kept all the binders, but rock magazines started to pile up. I picked up the hobby again in 2017 when I started to collect in this way again due to my new interest in Babymetal. At this time I got into it in a big way again. It was time to get things in order. I also wanted an upgrade, so I bought new binders (grey) and plastic pockets. Initially, I just updated what I already had, but then I started to deal with the piles of rock publications that had grown for a couple of decades. It was at this point, maybe about four years ago, that I decided to put all these (save for Babymetal) collections into one, a Deep Purple Family collection. And that included Black Sabbath since their history largely has included Purple people in the ranks for the longest time. Think Ronnie James Dio, Ian Gillan, Glenn Hughes, Cozy Powell, Neil Murray, Bobby Rondinelli, Don Airey, Martin Birch. You get the picture. At this point, the Deep Purple Family collection is at 107 binders. It is a wonderful collection and I still have stuff to put in (working on it, it is a nice hobby). The collection has often come to use over the years. I have scanned stuff for Deep Purple albums and documentaries. I often go to it if I need to check on things (it is way better than Google). It spans over 50 years of rock history. I mention this hobby every now and then on the blog, but I thought it would be fun to highlight the Sabbath connection to it as well. And if you are new to the blog, note that it has a Black Sabbath tag for easy access to Sabbath posts (160+ at the moment). Oh, and I included Sabbath in some of my publications as well, not least the 19 page history piece about the 1980-1986 era in Deep Purple Forever! issue 16 (March 1997).

(My shot of some binders, stuff seen is from magazines like Bravo, Kerrang! and Classic Rock)

Leave a comment