The Bruce Lee And Babymetal Connection

Posted: June 19, 2024 in Babymetal, Classic Rock, Cool stuff, DVDs & Blu-rays, Hobby, Japanese rock & metal

If anybody has spotted this connection before, I have not seen it. I watched a fully restored (as in longer) DVD release of the Bruce Lee 1973 masterpiece “Enter The Dragon” (best ever martial arts action film, hands down) yesterday and in one of the scenes at the beginning of the movie he is tutoring a young man and suddenly he says “Don´t Think. Feel”. I nearly fell out of my chair, because this is a much beloved quote that Su-metal used for the narration part of the rather epic pre-recorded Babymetal lore at the beginning of the shows on the “Metal Galaxy” tour. It is captured in all its glory on the “Live At The Forum” DVD (recorded in 2019, released in 2020). It is a very powerful introduction, and the “Don´t think. Feel” line is the last right before they launch into “Da Da Dance”. Now we all know that the Babymetal lore has been riddled with all sorts of references from the world of art (music, movies, probably a bit of everything under the sun). I have to think that Kobametal (manager Key Kobayashi) is largely responsible for the lore. There should be no surprise then that he might be a fan of Bruce Lee (I mean, he is a guy!), and perhaps of this film in particular. As I said, it is a masterpeice. I doubt very much that this is a coincidence.

(My shot of said upgraded edition of “Enter The Dragon” and the rather wonderful “Live At The Forum”)

Leave a comment