Plan B and beyond

Posted: July 2, 2017 in General, Jämtland (County), My countryside dream, Prepping

It rains today and my mind is preoccupied with thoughts about the future. I may have found a spot that will serve as my next (and hopefully last) home. The house is located in a small community that is well functioning (stores, restaurants, the lot) right next to great fishing waters. Basically a postcard of Sweden from 1970. That is pretty precious in this day and age but it is exactly the kind of place that you want to live in if society takes a turn for the worst (in other words, not anywhere near a city). Case in point, I have been told by people in the know that most police officers are doing the same thing right now. They know what reality looks like, some are even quitting their jobs. The clever people knows that we live in the last days of what used to be a pretty darned great country. Oh it will still be there, but it will change. And I kind of prefer 1970.

So mentally I know what I need to do and I always wanted a quiet place anyhow. If my Plan B happens to coinside with a long standing dream, then I am fine with that. What I am thinking of now is a potential Plan C, a place to go if everything really goes to hell (war, civil war, some unforeseen disaster). If you live in a small community way out in the countryside it is not hard to establish a small getaway right smack in the middle of nowhere not too far away from your place. That is my thinking today. Once I have moved to the other place, that will be Plan B. Right now it is Plan C.

For me at this stage in my life that looks like a pretty good deal.

Leave a Reply

