Yvonne Elliman

Posted: January 19, 2017 in Cool stuff, Deep Purple Family, General, Music (general)

yvonneelliman_2albumset

Discovered this two album set with Yvonne Elliman. I first heard her on Jesus Christ Superstar about 47 years ago as she did the part of Mary Magdalene on it (Deep Purple´s Ian Gillan did Jesus, although I was still not aware of Purple at the time). Later, she sang on Jon Lord´s “Gemini Suite” album (just rereleased). Her biggest hit as a solo artist is probably “If I Can´t Have You”. She has also done a lot of acting over the years. I have the album on the right (“Yvonne”, 1979) on Vinyl and I recall a song called “Cold Wind Across My Heart” that is absolutely beautiful. The cover you see on the left is the 1978 “Night Flight” album, which includes “If I Can´t Have You”.

This goes straight into the old collection.

Leave a Reply

