Scott King´s Montana Blue

Posted: August 29, 2013 in My western gals, Paintings and art, Retrofuture, Retrofuture 6 - Celebration issue

ScottKing 

Here is another exclusive preview from the RETROFUTURE 6 (Western edition) issue – my western heroine Montana Blue in the eyes of artist Scott King. A wonderful guest appearance from an artist that was part of my operations between 2000 and 2004. I asked Scott last year if he wanted to be part of my 100th publication, and he was interested in having a go at my Montana Blue creation, giving it his own personal touch. As you can see, the result is breathtaking – Scott really is in a class of his own. This page will be published with the interview I present with Montana Blue model Nina in this issue, adding yet another twist to the project.

I originally contacted Scott King for my LUCY IN THE SKY magazine in 2000, after spotting his wonderful art online. He became a part of this publication and had  pages in the five issues that came out between 2000 and 2003, with an interview about his work in the final issue as well. As I moved into the SLICE operation in 2003 Scott continued to be part of this publication as well for the first couple of issues – SLICE 2003 and SLICE 2004. But not only with the Xena art, but with additional X-Files art to boot. It was a wonderful addition to what was a very exciting part of my publishing career.

ScottKing_2 

The “Adventures of the Warrior Princess” and “A Message from the Bureau” pages are classics now, in my humble opinion. I would like to think that they are remembered fondly by the people that collected my magazines at the time. When I browse these publications now myself, I just love these pages – this really is some of the best stuff of its kind. The satire reminds me of classic MAD.

I am so happy that Scott King is part of the celebrations this year.

Leave a Reply

